Episode 15 – Christmas Gifts

Podcast Episode 15

Welcome to the newest group members on Ravelry:

Foureyesknitting
Patternwhisperer
Allthatcakeknit
vicki0000
Mack
Absolutelykathy

Thing 1 – knitting
-Finished my sister’s Stitch Surfers and another Trilobite hat.

– Almost finished – 3 items. 1= my son’s hat. 1898 Hat I LOVE the construction! And the Ms Babs doesn’t hurt along with some Classic Elite with cashmere!! Now I have to consult the patterns for the Mohawk hat to see how to affix the Mohawk and the braids. I have an idea for the braids already.
2= mom’s shawl. MISTAKE!! Better Together/You and I MKAL from Fiddlesticks Knitting designs.
3= Dog in Doghouse – from the Topsy Turvy Inside Out Knitted Toys book (Susan B. Anderson)

Thing 2 – spinning
NADA – I WANT to spin, but gotta get those gifts out. If I finish everything in good time for having the few weekdays before Christmas free, I want to spin some of my Fat Cat fiber.

EVERYONE NEEDS A THNEED!
Fat Cat Knits fiber – Cool Madras colorway. I ordered in a gradient, 6oz. and I want to spin it NoW!!

Club Awesome shipment was NFC, and I am not sure what to think. I love the dyeing – color is very saturated but I am not a huge fan of mohair (???) so not sure how I’ll like a scarf or cowl knit out of this. I did download the ACER shawl with the intention of using that to knit this up, but still unsure . . .

I WON a skein of yarn from a KAL I was doing in my Yarn Snobs group! Boho knits yarns, Serikos base – fingering weight with silk!! In the Oktoberfest colorway.

Bags for my mom and sister from Knittings My Bag – awesome. Will have son pick the pattern for the person – extra is for me!!!

TO THINK THAT I SAW IT ON MULBERRY STREET!
First KAL of 2014: gonna be a knit the sweater you want KAL. I’m going to run it along with my local knit group too – HI WEGMANS Knitters!!!
For this KAL – you can knit any sweater you like. I am going to do the Miranda pullover from stash. I have an alpaca yarn that will work I THINK! Some others were mentioned in the group.
Feel free to join in – you can knit whatever sweater you want. I want to allow good time for finishing a garment, so let’s make it 2 months. Cast on New Year’s Eve/January 1st. I will mention it to my knit group on January 4th, and some of them may not be casting on until the 18th with me at group. I will probably cast on for New Year’s since it looks like I may be home :/

GERALD MCBOINGBOING and I went to Capitol Hill last week!!! He gets invited to be an advocate for the funding for diabetes research with the JDRF/Promise Campaign. He has been to one in the past with Steny Hoyer. This time he was also asked to meet with Barbara McKulski ON the hill, which was exciting – the capital building is a beautiful work of architecture, and I felt like Olivia Pope walking in the back way and thru the little guard shack on the employee side of the building!

Have a happy holiday – I will have holiday travel stories to tell when I see you again in 2014. Be safe, and I hope your knitting makes you happy!!

Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

