Collecting

Yesterday I learned that a cute little yarn shop in a neighboring town was closing down. It was almost noon when I checked Ravelry and found the information. Just to be social, I called my sister with the info – “Did you know Knit Happens is closing? Apparently, everything is on sale!”

She replied with “Get over here, let’s go down there!” I hesitated for a nanosecond before obliging by dropping everything and jetting down the highway to her house.

Have I mentioned that I now consider myself a ‘yarn collector’ and that I try not to feel guilty about adding to my collection? Someone on Ravelry commented that we knitters who have large stashes should not in any way feel guilty about having so much yarn that we’ll most likely never even get to use. After all, stamp collectors don’t lick their stamps, do they???

I SO like that logic!

Still, I tried to only ‘collect’ yarn in useable, sweater quantities. My stash grew in this way:

14 skeins of Debbie Bliss Cathay – it was 70% off. Gorgeous color – I see it being a great summer sweater next year! Leave ideas in the comments if you have them!

11 skeins of Rowan Baby Alpaca DK – it was 70% off as well. This will be something feminine and cute – maybe a small cable on a plain sweater? Some eyelets here and there? Who knows. It’s soft and pretty.

And the last of the sweater quantities was a bit of an indulgence, since the yarn was only 45% off, but I LOVE this yarn, and really want to be able to knit a sweater with it: 12 skeins of Debbie Bliss Rialto.

I’m not a huge fan of pink, but this is the pink that works with my skintone, and it was the most appealing color out of those with larger quantities. I’m thinking of knitting Aliquot from the new Twist Collective from this yarn. I love the cables on that, and the open/tied cardigan is really a great modern “twist” on a classic shape. Lovely.

The other additions to the collection are not sweater quantities, but lovely anyway:

3 skeins of Rowan Cashsoft DK that will become a hat for The Boy. Navy Blue. I REEEEEAAALY wanted to get a sweater quantity of that, but opted for the Rialto instead. I’ll get my navy fix on the hat!

2 skeins of Ella Rae Lace Merino. Two different colorways, but both lovely. I have always been intrigued by the tight twist of this yarn, but put off by the price. This way, I can test it out and see if it’s worth buying at regular price again later! These were 70% off as well!

And last, but DEFINITELY not least, I was able to get a skein of Shaefer Yarn’s “Heather” at 50% off! Silk and merino in a 400 yard ball of fingering weight yarn. Yum. The colors are awesome, and I will save this for something really, really special that will be worn next to my skin. Did I say ‘yum?”

So, there you have it. The new additions to my collection. I love them all!

:O)

This entry was posted in knitting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Collecting

  1. Lynne says:

    Heather, that read would make a great openwork cardigan-style long vest… A bit of a v neck and maybe one button but I think it would be great over anything – comfy but dressy too if it needed to be…

    I have no idea if the links will work but I liked these in red.. =)
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cool-coral -but with no sleeves
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/beech-leaf-vest
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pretty-lace-cardigan-adult
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/antique-lace
    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/waistcoat

    and for the heather, if there’s enough and it wouldn’t be too busy… or maybe the raspberry… http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/wyvern-wrap-dragon-skin-wrap-for-women

  2. Jenn says:

    I already started knitting my sweater. Good looking out on the sale. I love yarn collecting! I used to collect stamps remember….but this is SOOOO much more fun!

  3. Rani says:

    I’m speechless. Green with envy and speechless.

Leave a Reply

