And So It Begins

Today is the first ‘official’ day of summer break. As in, school is out, my classroom is packed up, and I officially have ‘nothing’ on the schedule. What to do? I don’t really know what to do with myself.

I spun a bit this morning, waiting for The Boy to wake up.

I showered. Spun some more.

Realized The Boy was going to stay with his dad today, so ran to the post office, library, and auto store on my own (!).

I knit a swatch to prepare for a summer knit-along. Love those.

I looked up medical info online.

That last one is one of my most frequent spare-time fillers these days. It’s what I do, probably even more-so than knitting or spinning.

And I know I haven’t been around on the blog much lately. I’ve been checking on you all, but I just haven’t had the words to say all the things going on here. And there’s been LOTS going on.

This winter, we noticed some changes in our boy. Then in March we realized exactly why – he was diagnosed with Type 1 (Juvenile) Diabetes. Since then, we’ve learned lots, but there is still a lot we are unsure of, and often (very often) I feel like a bumbling idiot. The diagnosis has brought humongous changes in our lives, and I still don’t know how to say all that’s been seen, felt, and dealt with around here since March.

So, I won’t even try. Just know that from now on the “things” here at Knits-N-Things will be diabetes things.

:]

This entry was posted in diabetes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And So It Begins

  1. heather says:

    Wow. I can’t imagine what you are going through. I know you are going to do the best for your son, because that is the kind of mom you are. {{Hug}}
    What is your Summer Knit along? All I can manage these days are garter stitch washcloths! I forgot what having a one year old is like. Luckily she grows each day and maybe I will salvage a couple brain cells to pick up more complicated knitting in a few months. (hoping 🙂

    Happy Summer.

  2. Sorry about your son. That is hard for the whole family. I had a grandma that had diabets, but that was a long time ago. There finding out more and more diabets. I have alot of friend that have diabets. 1 and 2.
    stay healthy
    Shelly
    Healthy Home LLC

Leave a Reply

